When you view your history, you have the power to delete any websites you wish not to be shown (I'm sure there are more complex ways of finding a list of every site an IP address has visited, but in terms of everyday knowledge, we believe we can edit our history). Also, when you click a link to view one of those visited sites, you cannot be certain you are viewing the same exact version of the page as you did before. Take a Facebook Homepage as an example. When you return to it, it will automatically update with new information and the version of the site you once saw is gone forever.
So what does the "back" button allow us to do and what does a browser history actually record? I am interested in hearing others' thoughts!